image preview


Westbrook Seminary's Class of 1897 sits on the steps at Agnes Safford's summer cottage on Great Diamond Island in this sepia toned photograph donated by Edwin Booth Rollins, Class of 1897.

Prof. E. B. Rollins, W. S. Class of 1897, went on to be an Electrical Engineer and a member of the faculty at Tufts College.

In 1897 Miss Agnes M. Safford taught elocution and physical culture at Westbrook Seminary. She was Principal of Westbrook Seminary, then Westbrook Seminary and Junior College, 1925 - 1932.

The twenty-one members of the Class of 1897 included: Lucy Franklin Bryant, Alice Gertrude Dodge, Abbie Frances Perkins, Mildred Robbins, Alfaretta Gridley Weatherbee, Arthur Jesses Chick, Ernest Thomas Smith, Edwin Booth Vail, Carl Hamlin Witherell, Fred William Cousins, Merle Reynolds Griffeth, Edwin Butler Rollins, Minnie Howard Taylor, Eva Marie Fairbanks, John Marden DeShon, Clarence Preble Doten, Oliver Moses Harris, Herbert Carr Knight, Eugene Miller McCarty, Clifton Chesley Pooler, and Mabel Elvira Stover.


Sepia photograph


Creation Date


Size of Original

4 1/4 inches x 5 1/4 inches


E. B. Rollins

Files over 3MB may be slow to open. For best results, right-click and select "save as..."



Access Rights

Fair use: You do not need permission to use this material for personal research, in-class teaching purposes, school projects and assignments, blog posts or other non-commercial purposes. Proper citation is required.
Commercial use: Please contact WCHC for use of images in publications.